The Art of Letting Go

Hi All,

I’ve been going through lots of changes lately. I’ve moved twice. I now with roommates that aren’t my mom. I’m continuing to try figure out my place in the world. One huge thing in my life that is still a work in progress is the art of letting go. For most of life I’ve held on to a lot of negativity instead of just letting all of it go. Letting go is hard and challenging for me. I used to be a person who would hold onto grudges or resentments until I got so angry I felt like I was going to explode. I let all the negativity control me. I’ve had a lot of heartache and disappointment in my life due to how I grew up. I have forgiven both of my parents for the dysfuntionality of our relationships to one other. But it has taking me years of therapy to do so. To be completely honest I still hold on to things for far to long but I’m slowly starting to learn to let go. I don’t want to live  surrounded by negativity for the  rest of my life. I want to have joyous, happy and fulfilled life. As I inch closer to 40 in two years I think about what I want to do with the rest of my life. I know for sure I don’t want to be marred down by my past, resentments and negativity I won’t ever be happy or fulfilled.

For me letting go is about seeing my past as history, not holding on to resentments but instead moving forward and beyond to become a better version of me. One way for me to do that is be more of an open communicator with my mom, family and/or whomever comes into contact with me about my feelings negative or positive to let them go and focus on other things. Another way is to become more Zen on how I approach negative feedback, thoughts or people. Instead of fighting back like a child or animal over petty and trivial things I can choose to pick my battles and take a timeout to reassess and take some learning tools for the negative situation or problem I got myself into.

I have the power within myself to let negativity bog me down or not. Yes, I’m still very much a work in progress. I’m a huge complainer. I freely admit it. I’m a work in progress. I’m an emotional person who likes to talk about her feelings. I do have a hard time confronting people about habits or behaviors I don’t like or find annoying because I don’t like conflict.

I do however have a huge heart which I wear on my sleeve sometimes where it can get my in huge trouble (or bite me in the butt). I do want to be less of a complainer and more of optimist with positivity surrounding me. I don’t mean I would totally stop complaining forever but be more touch my mind, body and soul energy that brings light, love and happiness. (Jeez, I just got all new-agey just then. Yikes! not my intention).

Life is about letting go of all the negativity holding me back. Life is about letting in more opportunities that bring new adventures and positivity into my live.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. purplebutterfly38
    Nov 19, 2015 @ 17:33:22

    Reblogged this on marisapurplebutterfly.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

